Bière à la pression

I love that the United States is smack in the middle of a craft beer revolution.

I’m a firm believer in supporting small businesses, especially ones that get people drunk. The proliferation throughout the country of these independent entrepreneurs can only add fire to a still sluggish economy and I support their efforts wholeheartedly.

There is something, however, that I like a little more than the current American brew-ha-ha.

I like being able to walk into any bar in France and ordering une pression (a draught beer).

IMG_0663

That’s it.

The server will not ask what type of draught you prefer and he/she will not launch into a wild-eyed, protracted monologue about the latest honey brown pale ale porter blah blah blah they just tapped. At times you might be asked if you would prefer a small or large pression but clearly this is an inside joke flitted about occasionally by native French citizens who enjoy teasing non-natives.

Small?

Funny little server.

As a reward for your basic request you will be issued a tall glass of cold, golden, perfectly respectable beer.

Now, readers may take issue with my preference for ordering a straightforward pression over the option of perusing a lengthy menu chock full of complex high and low gravity beers with incredibly goofy names like “Peter Piper Peppered Pale” and “Westcott’s Dry Humpkin”.  Many, I feel certain, would posit that I’m simply lazy and unwilling to take the time to explore something new and ultimately rewarding.  And I would tell them they are wrong.  It’s because I’m super lazy and unwilling to take the time to explore something new and ultimately rewarding.

So kudos to you, France, for making beer consumption almost effortless.

4 responses

  1. Hi Dirk…I need some info about driving from Villefranche to Aix..this is my 10th visit to VSM and have never had a car, just pied et le train. So can you give me a good route, with perhaps Les Moustiers included?? Merci, I am leaving Md. on Oct 25 for Nice, so this may be too short notice.

    So enjoy all your emails.. Thanks so much. Melissa Taylor

  2. Once again, you’ve given us a delightful post to make us smile and give us good information. Thank you.

  3. I’m curious who brews “Westcott’s Dry Humpkin”. Is it an American micro brew? I found “Peter Piper’s Pickled Pepper Purple Peated Pale Ale” by Moondog Craft Brewery in Australia. Just curious.

Leave a Reply